Read Beware the Past by Joy Ellis Online

Beware the Past

A stunning new standalone crime thriller from #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis with a totally shocking conclusion. Discover the author everyones talking about. ONE TERRIBLE CASE ALWAYS HAUNTED DETECTIVE MATT BALLARD. NOW MANY YEARS LATER, THE KILLER SEEMS TO BE BACK. AND THIS TIME HES AFTER MATT. When Matt Ballard was starting out his career, three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed in a hit-and-run, the killings stopped. But Matt was not satisfied that the real murderer had been caught. Over 25 years later, Matt gets a photo in an unmarked envelope. Its of the Gibbet Fen crime scene. And the picture was taken before the murder took place. More photos arrive, relating to the historic murders, as well as intimate pictures of Matts very secret private life. A KILLER WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DESTROY A DETECTIVE. Then another murder happens, with some of the hallmarks of the old case. Has the killer returned or is this just a sick copycat determined to ruin Matts life and reputation? Everyone around Matt is in danger as the killer plays mind games with the detective. In an absolutely breathtaking conclusion, Matt and his team race against time to stop a vicious killer who knows no limits. WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT BEWARE THE PAST I think I forgot to breathe every now and then while I was reading and really begrudged having to put the book down. Barbara A simply brilliant book, so many twists and turns, I had no idea what to expect at any time. Janet The suspense starts on Page 1 and continues through the twists and turns until the very surprising ending. Linda Strong OMG, this book was fantastic I absolutely loved it. I was gripped from the first page but as the tension and suspense mounted throughout the book it just got better and better and that ending, well just WOW! Dawn Jones Gripping from beginning to end. Olga Without doubt Joy Ellis' best yet, this from someone who has read all of the Ellis novels. Ron Full of suspense, many clues and leads that only lead to dead-ends. Interesting characters with a past and buried secrets. Missmesmerized The Setting England's rural fenland is a strange place, with its never-ending fields, winding tracks, and long straight droves (the old livestock routes) that lead to nowhere. The lonely lanes are flanked either side by deep drainage ditches and are, for a good part of the year, filled with tall, whispering reeds. Closer to the Wash, high seabanks form a barrier between river and marsh, and the richly fertile soil of the drained land. But when the mists come down, as they so often do, perspective is destroyed and all sense of direction lost, and then the fens become a rather frightening place of mystery and danger. Somewhere that you do not want to be at night. Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell. ALSO BY JOY ELLIS THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS Book 3: HUNTED ON...

Title : Beware the Past
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 369 pages
Url Type : Home » Beware » Beware the Past

Russia s Blast from the Past Beware the Tu Bear At first glance, the Russian Tu Bear strategic bomber looks like a year old flying anachronism, a Cold War leftover that has outlived its usefulness in a Working past Beware this Canada Pension Plan A little known CPP quirk underscores a crucial reason to not delay payments until the age of Buyer Beware FRENCH BULLDOG CLUB OF ENGLAND BEWARE IF YOU SEE ADVERTS LIKE THESE For Sale Rare colours, Blue, Blue Pied, Blue Fawn, Slate, Lilac etc There is nothing rare or unusual about any of the Beware Imitations WaterPur Beware Of Imitations The WaterPur CCI Ca Cartridge is supplied as original equipment in approximately different brands of RV s Several different websites Beware the Nice Ones TV Tropes The Beware the Nice Ones trope as used in popular culture Sometimes, trying to Break the Cutie has consequences Sometimes, the nicest person in the story Beware the scammers who claim to be from TalkTalk Beware the scammers who claim to be from TalkTalk Listen to the call that reveals fraudsters dirty tricks Fraudster tries to convince our reporter to let him take Beware of the Con Artist Straight Shooter.Net Often times we think of con artists as preying on the elderly because they can be mentally disoriented and susceptible to the attention and concern of a stranger. LITERARY AGENTS SFWA Introduction Dishonest Agents Amateur, Marginal, and Incompetent Agents Telling Questionable From Reputable Agents Who Are Also Publishers Additional Cautions Writer Beware s Small Presses page SFWA Issues to Consider Before Submitting Evaluating a Small Press Hybrid Publishers Vanity Publishers in Small Press Clothing Misleading Terminology Some Common Beware the Baby Bumbo Seat Mama OT Bumbo Seats are convenient for parents, but they are bad for baby s development and are unsafe Find out why, plus suggestions for better alternatives.

Beware the Past Reviews

  • Misfits farm

    Twenty five years ago DC Matt Ballard found a body whilst staking out a drugs drop. Two more bodies were found shortly afterwards, all three were eleven year old boy whom no one would miss. The perpetrator was thought to have been found dead but several investigating the case didn’t believe it was quite that simple. Fast forward to now and Matt is now a DCI, just a few short months away from retirement. His past has been jaded and then he receives, via one of his colleague,s a photograph. He is ...more

  • Anthony Savage

    Great read!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.I don't have anything to compare it too. Grilling till the end. Can't wait to read another.

  • Books n All  Jill Burkinshaw

    Joy Ellis is, probably, my favourite author and I was very much looking forward to reading this stand-alone book. This book comes shortly after Thieves on the Fens and I absolutely loved that book so much I really doubted it could be bettered but then along comes this one and now I am thinking WOW the books just get better and better I wonder what she will come up with next.

    Matt is haunted by a case many years ago when 3 11 year old boys were brutally murdered. The suspect died before his guilt
    ...more

  • Book Lover

    25 years ago, three 11-year-old boys were brutally killed. The main suspect was killed in a hit and run accident and the killings stopped. DCI Matt Ballard was just starting his career when he helped investigate these crimes. He and his team start getting photos from the previous deaths and an 11-year-old boy is found dead, murdered in a similar way to the 3 previous boys. As the investigation moves forward, it looks more and more like DCI Ballard is specifically being targeted, and it’s placing ...more

  • Jennifer Holder

    I don’t even know what to say. I was hooked the whole way through. Usually, I always guess the twist by the half way point of a crime thriller, even ones that everyone else said shocked them. So, me being me, thought I had it sussed, just over half way through. I did change my mind a couple of times but I thought yep, I’ve nailed this.

    Let me tell you, I was wrong. I was so wrong. The answer to this story literally made me gasp. It was incredible.

    One of the best books I’ve read that left me thi
    ...more

  • Susan

    DCI Matt Ballard is taken to the brink when a past case comes back to haunt him, with new killings occurring twenty-five years later.

    A great read, a well-written mystery with some interesting characters, kept me interested right to the end.

    Received an Advanced Reader Copy

  • Marleen

    Expecting a great British police procedural read, I was rather disenchanted with this one. Joy Ellis is an unknown to me, so I gave it a go. Unfortunately, for me, there was simply too much cruelty and evil behavior to even be able to enjoy it. How can authors take pleasure in creating such hideous characters, and have them act out on the page – and not just for a small fraction of the book, but for pages on end. I’m so tired of books with this mindset.

    Please, give me stories with authentic and
    ...more

  • Louise Wilson

    Detective Matt Ballard is haunted by a traumatic case he never solved. In the 1990's three boys were murdered in the same area, the remote and bleak Gibbet Fen. When the main suspect was killed, the killings stopped. But Matt was never satisfied that the real killer had been caught. Twenty five years later, another killing takes place on Gibbet Fen. Has the killer returned or is this a copycat killing?

    This is a new standalone book from the author, Joy Ellis. A suspense packed thriller that is ju
    ...more