Read The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1) by Dervla McTiernan Online

The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1)

It's been twenty years since Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake in her crumbling Georgian home. But he's never forgotten the two children she left behind...When Aisling Conroy's boyfriend Jack is found in the freezing black waters of the river Corrib, the police tell her it was suicide. A surgical resident, she throws herself into study and work, trying to forget - until Jack's sister Maude shows up. Maude suspects foul play, and she is determined to prove it.DI Cormac Reilly is the detective assigned with the re-investigation of an 'accidental' overdose twenty years ago - of Jack and Maude's drug- and alcohol-addled mother. Cormac is under increasing pressure to charge Maude for murder when his colleague Danny uncovers a piece of evidence that will change everything...This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French and Jane Casey....

Title : The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780143133124
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1)
the sun the range the guardian the mail the greatest showman the open the works the train line the first purge the split the entertainer the white company the purge the kissing booth the gym the woman in white the alienist the mirror the bridge the shard the ruin digbeth the ruin tresco the ruin poem the ruin bars budapest the ruin dervla mctiernan the ruin starbound the ruin old english the ruin of kasch the ruin of empires the ruin pub digbeth the ruin landmark trust the ruin bars the ruin translation the ruin pub the ruin novel the ruen brothers the ruin of britain the ruin cafe the ruin film the ruin bristol

The Ruin A Novel It s been twenty years since Cormac Reilly discovered the body of Hilaria Blake in her crumbling Georgian home But he s never forgotten the two children she left The Ruin A Novel Kindle edition by Dervla McTiernan The Ruin A Novel Kindle edition by Dervla McTiernan Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets Use features like bookmarks, note Booktopia The Yellow House, Vogel Winner by Booktopia has The Yellow House, Vogel Winner by Emily O Grady Buy a discounted Paperback of The Yellow House online Van Diemen s Land Simple English Wikipedia, the free Van Diemen s Land was the name used by Europeans for Tasmania before it was known it was an island Tasmania is now a state of Australia The Dutch explorer Abel Booktopia Into the Night by Sarah Bailey, Booktopia has Into the Night by Sarah Bailey Buy a discounted Paperback of Into the Night online from Australia s leading online bookstore. List of The Saga of Darren Shan characters Wikipedia The topic of this article may not meet Wikipedia s notability guideline for stand alone lists Please help to establish notability by citing reliable secondary Google Search the world s information, including webpages, images, videos and Google has many special features to help you find exactly what you re looking for. Van Diemen s Land Wikipedia History Exploration The Dutch explorer Abel Tasman was the first European to land on the shores of Tasmania in Landing at Blackman Bay and later having the It s Difficult to Make Predictions, Especially About the Niels Bohr Samuel Goldwyn K K Steincke Robert Storm Petersen Yogi Berra Mark Twain Nostradamus Anonymous Dear Quote Investigator There is a family of Must Read Books The Man s Essential Library The books every man should read Written by Jason Lankow, Ross Crooks, Joshua Ritchie, and Brett McKay There are the books you read, and then there are the

The Ruin (Cormac Reilly #1) Reviews

  • Julie Lacey

    I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book but I was drawn in very quickly and really liked the main character, Cormac Reilly.

    He’s the new man in town and is finding it hard to connect with fellow Gardas but someone he’s worked with before is there so he sticks with him at first.

    It soon becomes clear to Cormac that Danny has done something to upset his colleagues but he can’t get to the bottom of what this is.

    Tasked with going through cold cases Cormac has time to try and work out what’s goi
    ...more

  • Josh

    This police procedural set in mostly in Galway, Ireland introduces new series protagonist Cormac Reilly; a smart and dedicated Guard who isn't afraid to go against the grain to solve a case - even if it means investigating his colleagues.

    The Ruin is a story of two tales intertwined by murder and circumstance. When Jake Blake goes missing, his partner, Aisling Conroy fears she's lost her loved one following the discovery of her pregnancy, however, it's not a matter of cold feet, with something m
    ...more

  • Kate Forsyth

    For me, the best crime novels are tense, evocative reads, set somewhere misty and atmospheric that raises the hairs on your skin, with characters who are complex and alive, who you cannot help caring about, and written in terse language that nonetheless has the power to haunt you with its beauty. I want to be moved by the characters’ plight and gripped by the compulsion to know what happened, and I want to be genuinely surprised by the denouement.

    It is, unsurprisingly, difficult to find all tha
    ...more

  • Bianca

    I just love it when a novel lives up to the hype.

    The Ruin was a very satisfying read - steady, engaging and very atmospheric.

    Garda Cormac Reilly (I love his name) was an interesting character, whom I hope to get to know better in the second novel.

    McTiernan weaved a compelling story, bringing to light some unsavoury Irish older realities, as the treatment of unwed mothers, child abuse and neglect, paedophilia, abortion. How timely. On a side note, I love all the wonderful news coming out of Ire
    ...more

  • Elaine Tomasso

    I would like to thank Netgalley and Little, Brown Book Group UK for an advance copy of The Ruin, a police procedural set in Galway.

    DS Cormac Reilly has recently taken a step down from the elite squad in Dublin he worked for to follow his partner to Galway. His welcome to Galway is less than warm and he is stuck with the coldest of cold cases despite his experience and ability. This does not change with the questionable suicide of Jack Blake, a man Cormac knew as a 5 year old when he discovered,
    ...more

  • K.

    Trigger warnings: child abuse, rape, death of a parent, death of a sibling, death of a partner, paedophilia, suicide, rape, murder, drug overdose, blackmail, discussion of abortion.

    I was super excited when we got a copy of this at work, except then someone else rudely borrowed before I could get my hands on it. Luckily, it was a Kindle deal of the day and I got it for like $2. SCORE!

    Anyway. This was SUCH a compelling read. It flips between 1993 and 2013. It cuts between a police officer, invest
    ...more

  • Susan

    This is a very promising start to a new crime series. Cormac Reilly is a young Garda, or police officer, when he is sent out to a call. When he arrives at the crumbling country house, he finds a mother dead of what appears to be a drug overdose and two children alone. Maude is fifteen, her little brother, Jack, only five. The two children are obviously neglected and so Cormac takes the two to a local hospital, where Maude slips away.

    Twenty years later and Jack, who was adopted, is living with hi
    ...more

  • Nadia King

    The Ruin is a stunning debut from Perth author, Dervla McTiernan (McTiernan moved to Perth from Ireland but we’re claiming her as our own).

    Crime fiction is a relatively new reading genre for me but it’s one I find myself increasingly drawn to. The Ruin has all the hallmarks of a seasoned and talented crime writer. The complex story set in Ireland is told clearly with atmospheric writing and had me hooked from the outset.

    McTiernan has empathy for the broken and twisted and cracks a compelling, ch
    ...more