Read Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves by Liesl Shurtliff Online

Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump, comes the true story behind another unlikely hero: a grumpy dwarf who gets tangled up in Snow White's feud with the wicked queen.Ever since he was a dwarfling, Borlen (nicknamed "Grump") has dreamed of visiting The Surface, so when opportunity knocks, he leaves his cavern home behind. At first, life aboveground is a dream come true. Queen Elfrieda Veronika Ingrid Lenore (E.V.I.L.) is the best friend Grump always wanted, feeding him all the rubies he can eat and allowing him to rule at her side in exchange for magic and information. But as time goes on, Grump starts to suspect that Queen E.V.I.L. may not be as nice as she seems. . . . When the queen commands him to carry out a horrible task against her stepdaughter Snow White, Grump is in over his head. He's bound by magic to help the queen, but also to protect Snow White. As if that wasn't stressful enough, the queen keeps bugging him for updates through her magic mirror! He'll have to dig deep to find a way out of this pickle, and that's enough to make any dwarf Grumpy indeed....

Title : Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781524717018
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Grump » Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves
grumpy cat grumpy mole grump meaning grump synonym grumpy old women grump it grump crossword clue grump definition grumpy mole epsom grumpy old men grumpy mole cheam grumpy cat memes grumpy mole tadworth grumpy mule grumpy dwarf grump now grumpy meaning grumpy panda grump street ilmington grumpy old man grumpy the dwarf grumpy the cat grump the book grumpy the care bear grumpy the seven dwarfs grumpy the dwarf meme grumpy the dog grumpy the dwarf t shirt grumpy the 7d grumpy the dwarf images grumpy the cat net worth grumpy the clumsy grumpy the dwarf gif grumpy the t rex grump the fairly true story grump the dragon grump the parrot grumpy the smurf grumpy the band grumpy the dwarf quotes grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs grump the (fairly) true tale of snow white and the seven dwarfs

Grump The Fairly True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Grump The Fairly True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves Liesl Shurtliff on FREE shipping on qualifying offers From the New York Red The Fairly True Tale of Red Riding Hood Liesl Red The Fairly True Tale of Red Riding Hood Liesl Shurtliff on FREE shipping on qualifying offers Beauty and the Beast fans satisfy your Doc Disney Wiki FANDOM powered by Wikia Doc is the leader of the seven dwarfs in Disney s animated film, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs Perce Pierce, one of the storymen working on Snow White Dopey Disney Wiki FANDOM powered by Wikia Dopey is the youngest of the seven dwarfs in Disney s animated film, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs Eddie Collins performed live action reference with vocal The Tale of Despereaux Classroom Set with Teachers Edition About The Tale of Despereaux Classroom Set with Teachers Edition Perfect for teachers Don t miss this classroom set which contains seven Summer Reading List for Kids, as Chosen by Teachers Print, share, and pass it on The WeAreTeachers summer reading list for kids in grades K is here All books recommended by educators

Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves Reviews

  • Elley Murray

    Perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted books. Grump is a fun twist on the Snow White story you think you know, told from the point of view of "Grump," a misfit dwarf who was born too close to the surface and it made him a little odd. (He actually reminds me a bit of Ariel from The Little Mermaid, always dreaming about the surface and collecting surface dweller things…) I love the way the dwarves are portrayed, both the individual characters in the book and as a culture. The worl ...more

  • Kami

    - This was a fun and refreshing new take on a classic fairy tale.

    - I liked Red and Rump better, but this was good. I liked this better than Jack.

    - I liked the Grump was the center of the story, and I liked learning about the dwarfish ways. The author was really clever with the Dwarves' way of life.

    - Snow White was a little annoying, but I think she was supposed to be.

    - I liked the queen dynamic. I really liked that being the fairest in the land had two meanings, and the queen totally took the w
    ...more

  • michelle

    Thank you to NetGalley for the digital review copy. All opinions are my own.

    Liesl Shurtliff is the master at taking a well known fairy tale and giving you a completely different perspective. In this book, she takes the beloved Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs and gives us an alternate story that could have been, since us humans often change the details of the stories and leave out the most important parts.

    The dwarfs are an interesting crew that could use a little explaining. According to Germani
    ...more

  • Jana

    I had the opportunity to read a digital ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for this review. This middle grade fantasy novel is the latest in a series of books giving the back story of some of our favorite fairy tales: Rump – The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, Jack – The True Story of Jack and the Beanstalk, and Red – The True Story of Little Red Riding Hood. And once again, I loved it!

    Shurtliff expertly freshens and livens up the story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves by giving us th
    ...more

  • Cara

    I enjoy reading traditional fairy tales from a side character's perspective. Even though you know how it's going to end, it's really fun to see how the author gets you there.

    This installment wasn't as strong as the other two for me. I liked Grump's story, but it just took too long to get to the meat of the story.

    I did enjoy the way the story ended, and I really liked the trolls. I wish there would've been more of them in there.

  • Mrs Bond

    I love this book! This is a fun to read reimagninging of the dwarves who protected Snow White, particularly the one known as Grumpy. While she does make an appearance, Snow White is a minor character in this tale. Instead we follow the life of Borlen (aka Grumpy) as he struggles between his curiosity about the surface and his obligations below ground. Through the process we learn about dwarf culture, relationships, and even cuisine. I enjoyed this story so much that I booktalked the author's ear ...more

  • Asma (oasisgirlmd)

    3.5 stars

    "Pin-chess, beebles, applease". First of all how

    adorable are the dwarves' pronunciation of certain words.

    I like Liesl Shurtliff's books, her fairytales are an elaboration of the classic versions (and funnier too)

    This was a cute quick read where we learn alot about dwarves and their world (and not just that one sneezes alot and one's the angry one). For example they are scared of coming to the Surface (earth), they only eat gems and they spend their lives mining underground.

    One of them
    ...more

  • Elizabeth

    Grump is a wonderful addition to Shurtliff's world of fairy tales and magic. I loved how three-dimensional the character of Grump was. His struggles and battles were real and relatable. His friendships with Snow White and the other dwarves were full of trials and setbacks but showed that true friendships are the most important thing in life and will rise above any problems.