Read The Devil's Half Mile by Paddy Hirsch Online

The Devil's Half Mile

Fans of Caleb Carr, Erik Larsen, and Gangs of New York will love this riveting historical thriller debut, set in a 1799 New York City.Seven years after a financial crisis nearly toppled America, traders chafe at government regulations, racial tensions are rising, and corrupt financiers make back-door deals with politicians... 1799 was a hell of a year.Thanks to Alexander Hamilton, America recovered from the financial panic of 1792, but the young country is still finding its way. When a young lawyer returns to prove his father's innocence, he exposes a massive financial fraud that the perpetrators are determined to keep secret at any cost. And reaching the highest levels, the looming crisis could topple the nation....

Title : The Devil's Half Mile
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780765399137
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Devil's Half Mile

DWD Devil s Lake Home The perfect midsummer road trip trail run Just north of Madison lies Devil s Lake, an area of amazing geological, ice age creation, the perfect backdrop for an Devil Dog Double Historic Half Marine Marathon It s . miles and two triumphant climbs up Hospital Hill in one morning The Devil Dog Double combines the Semper ive, a five mile run starting in Fredericksburg s Devil s Path hiking trail Wikipedia The Devil s Path is a hiking trail in the Greene County section of the Catskill Mountains of New York, sometimes described as one of the challenging trails in Devil s Dyke and the World s Grandest View Walks Devil s Dyke and the World s Grandest View is an AA recommend walk with full walking directions and descriptions of places of interests along the walk Find AA Devil s Bowl Speedway New England s Fastest Dirt New England s Fastest Dirt Track Mile Banked Clay Oval NASCAR Racing Sunday Nights Route A, West Haven, VT Devil Mud Run Gloucestershire Mud Run Devil Mud Run DEVIL MUD RUN is a hardcore, hilly kilometer mud run course in Gloucestershire featuring over obstacles. Devil s Millhopper Geological State Park Map, Online guide to the beautiful Devil s Millhopper Geological State Park in Gainesville, Florida Our site has a map, directions, photos, history, hours, fees, and The Devil s Chair in the San Gabriel Mountains Modern Hiker The Devil s Chair is a narrow rocky ledge that offers exceptional views of the otherworldly landscape of the Devil s Punchbowl. Devil s Den State Park, Arkansas Devil s Den State Park is an Arkansas icon It is a beloved natural and historic treasure where over the decades park visitors have made memories to cherish a lifetime. Home Calico Racing Races Running With the Devil Jun , ET Full Moon Aug , Devil After Dark Sep , Twilight Red Rock Oct , Out with the Old

The Devil's Half Mile Reviews

  • Cait

    I'm always here for historical fiction centering around late 18th/early 19th century America. And this was a very interesting book from a historical perspective as well as a page-turning mystery. Unfortunately, it also fell into a few common traps for books in those genres. The protagonist is able to conclusions that seem a little far-fetched because he's so brilliant (view spoiler) ...more

  • Carin

    It took me a minute to place the author's very familiar name, especially when I looked him up in Goodreads and found... almost nothing. Just some obscure book about economics. And then it occurred to me--he's on NPR's Marketplace! I love him! (He's actually on leave to focus on his writing which is a bummer. Not the writing part, but why can't he do both?)

    In 1799 New York, Justy has just returned from law school in Scotland, where he was also involved in some Scottish skirmishes. Before he left,
    ...more

  • Jessica

    Justice Flanagan returns to post-revolutionary New York, following education and soldiering in the Irish Rebellion. He's seen and learned a great deal about the world, that he hopes will help him solve the mystery of his father's death.

    Against the backdrop of a squalling infant America, Paddy Hirsch weaves an intricate set of mysteries as Justy tries to comes to terms with his past and how it will color his future. With a solution I didn't see coming, and betrayal on every cobbled street corner
    ...more

  • Brian

    I usually don't read historical fiction. I won this ARC through Goodreads Giveaways. The premise was intriguing. Wall Street, Post Revolution, Murder, Conspiracy- it sounded pretty good. I rather enjoyed it. The one thing that I was hung up on was the one thing that gives it some authenticity- the slang and jargon. Luckily, Hirsch puts a little glossary at the end so you can look up the words, but it became a little distracting when I had to do it every minute or so.

    The premise and plot couldv'e
    ...more

  • Rebecca

    Thank you to the author and the publisher for a copy won in a giveaway! All opinions are my own.

  • Kirsten Love dipatri

    Crime fiction set in Hamilton’s New York City with intriguing characters and page turning mystery... My only beef with Devil’s Half Mile was that it kept me up way too late! I love crime fiction, but sometimes a twisty plot comes at the expense of quality. This book delivers all around. It is well written, with characters and a setting that feels cinematic. (It would make such a great movie!) I loved the Irish and period jargon in this book. It feels authentic and was a deeply satisfying read. F ...more

  • Ashlee Caldwell