Read You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between by Daniela J. Lamas Online

You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

"Gripping, soaring, inspiring."--Atul Gawande, author of Being Mortal For readers of Atul Gawande and Jerome Groopman, a book of beautifully crafted stories about what life is like for patients kept alive by modern medical technology.Modern medicine is a world that glimmers with new technology and cutting-edge research. To the public eye, medical stories often begin with sirens and flashing lights and culminate in survival or death. But these are only the most visible narratives. As a critical care doctor treating people at their sickest, Daniela Lamas is fascinated by a different story: what comes after for those whose lives are extended by days, months, or years as a result of our treatments and technologies?In You Can Stop Humming Now, Lamas explores the complex answers to this question through intimate accounts of patients and their families. A grandfather whose failing heart has been replaced by a battery-operated pump; a salesman who found himself a kidney donor on social media; a college student who survived a near fatal overdose and returned home, alive but not the same; and a young woman navigating an adulthood she never thought she'd live to see -- these moving narratives paint a detailed picture of the fragile border between sickness and health.Riveting, gorgeously told, and deeply personal, You Can Stop Humming Now is a compassionate, uncompromising look at the choices and realities that many of us, and our families, may one day face. ...

Title : You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780316393171
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between

You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor s Stories of Life You Can Stop Humming Now A Doctor s Stories of Life, Death and In Between Roald Dahl Wikipedia Early life Childhood Roald Dahl was born in at Villa Marie, Fairwater Road, in Llandaff, Cardiff, Wales, to Norwegian parents, Harald Dahl and Sofie Magdalene Jpouch Life Stories of Colitis, Crohn s, IBD, Ostomy Support for Jpouch, Colitis, Crohn s, IBD, Ostomy, Ileostomy, Stoma, preliminary surgeries, Surgery, photos, takedown, life without a colon. Humming Sound Noise Help Hi Sarinne, What advice can you offer in regards to blocking out very low frequency noise I have recently moved into a double brick house and at night Tiny Love Stories to Make You Smile Marc and Here s a selection of tiny love stories recently submitted to our sister site, Makes Me Think, that not only made us think, but warmed our hearts and made us Overly Long Gag TV Tropes The Overly Long Gag trope as used in popular culture A gag that goes excessively far and beyond a tolerable length The concept is that something happens Wonder Woman Doctor Poison s Subject by This, and Wonder Woman in the mental asylum, are my two favorites You write so well and really get into the head of your characters The resistance and the eventual How to Stop Chest Pain From Anxiety in Less Than a Chest pain It s so scary But it s less scary if you know it s caused by anxiety When most of us suddenly feel our chest hurts, we re certain that we re Philip K Dick Wikiquote The Variable Man , The Collected Short Stories of Philip K Dick, v. The Short Happy Life of the Brown Oxford Doctor Labyrinth, like most people who San Francisco Bay Guardian Looking for a Guardian It looks like you re trying to find a page that may have been moved or not longer exists Please try using our search function to find your content Are you looking

You Can Stop Humming Now: A Doctor's Stories of Life, Death, and in Between Reviews

  • Kind  Konfetti

    I went into this book wanting to learn more about the science and policies of my health care colleagues across the pond. My expectations quickly shifted as I realised this book was about the people we care for, their stories and the impact of medical interventions on them. Dr Lamas writes beautifully, full of compassion as she shares the highs and lows of patients experiencing the cutting edge of our latest advancements in medicine. The focus of the book was entirely on the people we work toward ...more

  • Sylvia

    I liked this book but my impression of the author was that she was aloof to her patients and never quite connected to them as humans.

  • Carly

    A real eye opener into the medical world and patients lives.

    I loved this book, it made me want to be a doctor, I found myself trying to diagnose patients as I read it !!

    A must read !

  • Shelley

    This short book is made up of essay-chapters about patients who are, for the most part, on the periphery of the medical system in one way or another--waiting for a transplant, waiting to die, waiting to return to their lives, coping with life after TBI--and it's very interesting. It's very short, though, and anecdotal--more like a long piece in the Atlantic than a solid work of non-fiction (there is some element of memoir to it, as well, but not enough to really feel like a memoir). I would love ...more

  • Susan Krich

    This is a Goodreads book.

    The intro explains the journey Dr. Lamas went through from wanting to win at all costs to when to let go and make the patient comfortable.

    The different chapters depict different patients, what they went through and in the afterword, their results good and bad at the time the book was finished.

    This book is very thought provoking.

    When do you say enough is enough ? For all patients and their families there is no set in stone answer and it is interesting to see what they had
    ...more