Read My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan Online

My Oxford Year

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her futureperfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, shes finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when shes offered an unbelievable position in a rising political stars presidential campaign. With the promise that shell work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, shes free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all shes envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasnt anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.Immediately, Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man shes falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither are truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams shes always wanted are the same ones shes now yearning for....

Title : My Oxford Year
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062740656
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 352 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » My Oxford Year

My Oxford Year Julia Whelan Paperback Major Motion Picture Already in Development with Temple Hill EntertainmentOne of the Best Books of April for Brit Co and Liz and Lisa Set amidst the breath My Oxford Year Is Being Made Into A Romance Bustle Author Julia Whelan, courtesy of Kei Moreno Sweet and tender, My Oxford Year is a heartbreaking coming of age romance that will move readers to tears. My Oxford Year ReadingGroupGuides In her sparkling debut, Julia Whelan crafts an incredible love story set amongst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford about a determined, intelligent young woman My Oxford Year A Novel by Julia Whelan, Paperback My Oxford Year is a pure delight with unpredictable depths Julia Whelan has crafted a story that is as fun and charming as it is powerful and wise. MY OXFORD YEAR Reading Group Choices Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the My Oxford Year A Novel New Adult Fully Booked Fully Booked is all about finding the next great read Whether it s Fiction or a beloved Memoir, great stories are everywhere if you take the time to look.

My Oxford Year Reviews

  • Heather 'Bookables'

    3.75

  • Nina Draganova

    Сигурна съм , че тази книга ще стане хит.

    Събрала е в себе си по малко от всичко най-четено и харесвано напоследък.

    Малко оставаше да не си я купя, когато разбрах , че авторката е американка.

    Но понеже е първата й книга реших да заложа.

    Да , има неща в стила , които на мен лично не ми харесват, типично американски.

    Прилича повече на сценарий на места.

    В началото даже ме дразнеше с използването на прекалено много академична информация.

    В крайна сметка обаче, Оксфорд е дал положително отражение и натежа
    ...more

  • Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth







    You know how our expectations are sometimes too high? Or, you expect something completely different and get something else and it's even better than what you were anticipating? It's the best feeling when a book does that. My Oxford Year surprised me, it totally blindsided me. Although I read the blurb it kind of slipped that it was compared to JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks. Anyway, let me tell you about this sparkling little gem that is My Oxford Year.



    When Ella arrives in Oxford, jetlagged and,

    And if you’re not surprised by life, then what’s the bloody point?


    Jamie and Ella are both highly intelligent characters. It's not just that the author says so, no, the way they talk to each other, the banter, their long conversations about poetry, Julia Whelan shows us that these are super-smart people. Their weapon of choice is a sharp tongue that can cut deep. Mostly used in humor though, I loved their witty retorts and comebacks so much and it's a testament to the author's own intelligence and wit. I want to be BFFs with Julia Whelan.



    Jamie has this wonderfully dry humor that so resonates with me. He is kind, brave and endearing with his little quirks and I fell head over heels in love with him. He is the kind of complicated that makes a man charismatic. He is a contradicting mix of calm and storm and his tenderness is heart-achingly sweet.  Jamie is unforgettable and will always hold a special place in my heart. Ella from Ohio is his American equivalent. There was one situation I felt my face getting red from anger because Ella acted cruelly but she came through in a big way so she had my forgiveness in the end.

    Their connection is made of dislike and explosive chemistry from the get-go but these are equals on the battlefield of words. The combative basis of their relationship morphs soon into respect and affection, then love.

    The hardest thing is love, with no expiration date, no qualifiers, no safety net. Love that demands acceptance of all the things I cannot change. Love that doesn’t follow a plan.


    This author describes Oxford in vivid pictures, I could see Ella ride her bike through the streets of this charming town. Her description is a love declaration for Oxford.



    Ella's journey is one of soul searching and while you watch Jamie and Ella growing into the best people they can be this book forces you to look at your own life. It invites you to do your own soul searching to become a better version of yourself. My Oxford Year will stay with me for a long time, my heart still constricts when I think about it. Julia Whelan intersperses a ton of humor so that the sadder parts don't feel depressing. I really appreciate that - I love my angst but I don't want to be overwhelmed with it. The story ends with a message that we all should take to heart - live today, live and love like there is no tomorrow. Life isn't about goals and targets, it's about the way to them and how you get there. And that your goals can change.

    I came to Oxford looking for a Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience. I chose to experience a lifetime.


    With its intelligent prose and witty banter this book will go on my top-favorites-2018 - shelf. It made me feel, laugh and think and I can't wait to discover what else Ms Whelan has in store for us readers.

    On a related note: I just read that Sam Heughan and Melissa Benoist have been cast as Jamie and Ella - I'm in heaven.

    If you want to know more about Julia Whelan and her brand of humor read this "interview".



    ...more

  • ✨ Kaira ✨

    Plot - 4

    Writing style - 5

    Characters - 5

    Romance - 5

    In which a 24-year-old American went to England to study in Oxford in where she met a man made her blood boil who turns out to be her professor.

    WARNING: SPOILERY REVIEW

    PLOT - at the first half of the book, I am absolutely bored to the point I thought about not finishing it. However, as soon as the twist pops out, I cannot stop myself from reading and crying. God, I've never cried like this ever since I've read "A Man Called Ove"

    When I read the
    ...more

  • DJ Sakata

    Favorite Quotes:

    His voice is so melodious, so low and soothing, it should be accompanied by choral music.

    Everyone else looks very British about it, like this is where fun comes to die.

    “Given the lovely turn of your figure, it’s quite gratifying you’re not one of those dreadful American girls who subsist entirely on lawn clippings and glacier water,” Charlie says. My mouth is too full of scone to reply.

    He has this ability to go still, as if he’s stopped breathing. Like a vampire. Which makes me
    ...more

  • Christie«SHBBblogger»



    Title: My Oxford Year

    Series: Standalone

    Author: Julia Whelan

    Release date: April 24, 2018

    Cliffhanger: No

    HEA(view spoiler)

    Sometimes you just get a gut feeling about a book, and that's what happened when I came across My Oxford Year. After seeing the adorable cover and reading the blurb, the entire package was calling to me and screaming READ ME in neon lights. I'm usually hesitant with new/unfamiliar authors, but I instictively took the leap of faith in this case, and it paid o
    ...more

  • Kate Olson

    Thanks to the publisher for this finished copy for review purposes!

    Let's start with what I loved, shall we? I LOVED the Oxford setting and everything about the descriptions about Oxford life. I loved the pubs, Ella's friends, all of it. Seriously, that alone gets 5 stars from me!

    Now, for the hmmmmm. I wasn't blown away by the romance and while it was touching, I felt like I should have been moved MORE??? I'm not sure why and how, but I was left feeling like it was fine, a middling 3.

    Okay, now f
    ...more

  • Jenna

    It’s not that there was anything...egregiously wrong with this, it’s just that it wasn’t what I was looking for. I grossly overshot in my quest for a *slightly*-lighter beach read. Who gives a f@&k about an Oxford Comma?* - Well, I do! I’m a fairly... let’s say serious person, and I thought this book would be a beach read for People Like Me. Alas, no: it is Mr. Nicholas Sparks Goes to Oxford. It is A Walk (in Oxford) to Remember. I feel like the cover of the book, the reputation of the autho ...more