Read Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty Online

Midwinter Break

A retired couple, Gerry and Stella Gilmore, fly from their home in Scotland to Amsterdam for a long weekend - a holiday to refresh the senses, to do some sightseeing, and generally to take stock of what remains of their lives. Their relationship seems safe, easy, familiar. But over the course of the four days we discover the deep uncertainties that exist between them. Gerry, once an architect, is forgetful and set in his ways. Stella is tired of his lifestyle, worried about their marriage, and angry at his constant undermining of her religious faith. Things are not helped by memories that have begun to resurface of a troubled time in their native Ireland. As their midwinter break comes to an end, we understand how far apart they are - and can only watch as they struggle to save themselves....

Title : Midwinter Break
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781911214212
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 242 pages
Url Type : Home » Midwinter » Midwinter Break
midwinter break midwinter koval midwinter of the spirit midwinter fire midwinter pottery midwinter yarns midwinter fire dogwood midwinter stylecraft midwinter solutions midwinter koval barnstaple midwinter china midwinter spanish garden midwinter game midwinter poem midwinter stonehenge midwinter patterns midwinter entertainment midwinter coffee set midwinter gardens swindon midwinter break review midwinter break film midwinter break waterstones midwinter break synopsis midwinter break kindle midwinter break bernard midwinter break book club questions midwinter break amazon midwinter break by bernard maclaverty review midwinter break goodreads midwinter break 2019 midwinter break seasons

Midwinter Break A Novel Bernard MacLaverty Midwinter Break A Novel Bernard MacLaverty on FREE shipping on qualifying offers For readers of Colm Tobn, a moving portrait of a marriage Midwinter Break A Novel Kindle edition by Bernard Midwinter Break A Novel Kindle edition by Bernard MacLaverty Download it once and read it on your Kindle device, PC, phones or tablets Use features like SOS Mid Winter Break Shag Dance SOS MID WINTER BREAK WINTER WORKSHOP January , The Association meeting will be on Satuday, January th. Midwinter video game Wikipedia Midwinter is a post apocalyptic first person action role playing game with strategy and survival elements for the Atari ST, Amiga and PC It was designed by Mike Bernard MacLaverty Home welcome to BERNARDMACLAVERTY.COM The official site of Bernard MacLaverty As always in MacLaverty s pages , everything is alive with absorbing actuality. Monaco Mid Winter Marathon The Nelson Tasman regions only full Marathon event Person Relay Half Marathon each , Person Relay, starting at the scenic Monaco Peninsula. Spring Break Camp Marinwood Community Services Get a taste of summer at our Spring Break Camp Our camp counselors are dedicated to providing a safe and fun environment for children to interact, meet new friends Mill Valley, CA Camps Children are able to unplug from technology and gain resiliency The kind of encouragement and nurture kids receive at Camp makes it SUMMER SCHOOL BREAK CAMPS Home Summers Knoll School Summers Knoll offers day camps during summer vacation, mid winter break, and spring break, giving students an opportunity to explore the world around them and the Camps For Curious Minds Pacific Science Center Spring Break Camps Camps offered during April at Mercer Slough and Pacific Science Center and April at St Thomas School for grades K .

Midwinter Break Reviews

  • Roger Brunyate

     

    Threescore Years and Then . . . ?

    And did you get what

    you wanted from this life, even so?

    I did.

    And what did you want?

    To call myself beloved, to feel myself

    beloved on the earth.
    This poem, "Late Fragment" by Raymond Carver, is just about the last thing he ever wrote. Bernard MacLaverty quotes it near the end of his beautiful novel, and it distills the essence of the entire book. But it comes at a moment of despair; any transcendence is hard won and must be taken partly on faith. The spiritual ar ...more

  • MisterHobgoblin

    Bernard MacLaverty is a sublime writer and Midwinter Break is as good as anything he has ever written.

    Gerry and Stella Gilmore are a long-married couple of pensionable age, living in Glasgow but originally from the north of Ireland. Gerry is fond of a nightcap and Stella has quite a strong Catholic faith. They know one another inside out. They have decided to take a mid-winter break to Amsterdam, perhaps to celebrate their enduring marriage.

    Gradually, and gently, we start to see the flaws in the
    ...more

  • Phil

    I do not write plot summaries. The publicist has done a fine job with the one provided by the publisher.

    Stella and Gerry are an “old married couple,” in their upper sixties, married for at least forty years. Both are set in their ways, both accommodate their partner’s habits, for better or worse. One senses and witnesses acts of love and compassion.

    But both are living with deep-rooted frustrations which are acted out by each on the other (perhaps Gerry more than Stella). Gerry trained as an arch
    ...more

  • Jonathan Pool

    "There are important questions to be answered. How can we best live our lives? How can we live good lives"?(90)

    Stella is the victim of a life changing event. She continues to contemplate the meaning of life in the light of her unfortunate experience, and is no nearer to finding any answers as the book closes.

    Midwinter Break leaves this reader with a similar feeling that the huge cracks in the marriage of Stella and Gerry are unresolvable.

    This is such an Irish book. The main events affecting the
    ...more

  • Dianne

    This is the story of Gerry and Stella, in their early sixties, off on a 4-day holiday to Amsterdam. They are at pivotal moment in their lives and their marriage. Gerry is an alchoholic and Stella is fed up and looking to lead a more purposeful and spiritual life.

    This was well-written but it really dragged for me, especially toward the end. I don't know how Gerry and Stella felt, but this seemed like the longest vacation in history. Too much blah blah blah. The last quarter of the book was more s
    ...more

  • Gumble's Yard

    The family is raised, the work’s done. That can’t be it, can it? There’s ten or twenty years left over, as it were. We’ve cut the life of our cloth wrongly. It doesn’t fit …. I have a sense of drift. I want to do something with the time I have left. Other than watch you drink


    This book is the story of a midwinter break taken in Amsterdam by a retired couple Gerry and Stella – Gerry and Stella are a Northern Irish Catholic Couple now living in Glasgow.

    The title however also conveyed to me the es ...more

  • Elyse

    Bernard MacLaverty is an Irish author - new to me. His writing is impeccable and intimate. He paints a clear portrait of a retired middle age married couple.

    However, although I appreciate the authors understanding of this relationship - which we observed up close and personal - I didn't actually enjoy the plot or the themes in this novel. My own personal beliefs are so very different from both Stella and Gerry - I didn't have much empathy for them.

    I've read many books about married couples- you
    ...more

  • Paromjit

    This is a profoundly moving and perceptive examination of the anatomy of a long marriage. Gerry and Stella Gilmore are retired, now living in Scotland, and facing the midwinter of their lives and their marriage. Gerry, once an architect, a mediocre one in his estimation, cannot get through a day without his drinking but his love for his wife is plain to see. Stella was a teacher, but her son and grandson live in Canada, leaving her feeling she needs more in her life and Gerry is not enough. They ...more