Read The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen Online

The Bird and the Blade

As a slave in the Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom until the kingdom is conquered by enemy forces and she finds herself an unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his irascible father across the vast Mongol Empire. On the run, with adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to use the Kipchaks exile to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into a hopeless love.Jinghuas already dicey prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. As beautiful as she is cunning, Turandokht requires all potential suitors to solve three impossible riddles to win her handand if they fail, they die.Jinghua has kept her own counsel well, but with Khalafs kingdomand his very lifeon the line, she must reconcile the hard truth of her past with her love for a boy who has no idea what shes capable of ... even if it means losing him to the girl whod sooner take his life than his heart.The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from debut author Megan Bannen....

Title : The Bird and the Blade
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062674159
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Bird and the Blade

The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and The Bird and the Blade A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and Bird Wikipedia Birds, also known as Aves, are a group of endothermic vertebrates, characterised by feathers, toothless beaked jaws, the laying of hard shelled eggs, a high metabolic Birdwatchers flock to see rare bird, then watch it killed June , The White throated Needletail after it died flying into a wind turbine in Scotland The very rare bird has needle like feathers and white B Golf Terms GolfEurope Dictionary of golf terms from A to Z Easy or obscure terms This guide will explain them all Main Programme Stoke on Trent Film Theatre The Film Theatre will return in September We are currently closed for our summer break Details of our next programme will be posted here when they are available. Lady Bird Johnson Wikipedia Claudia Alta Lady Bird Johnson ne Taylor December , July , was an American socialite and the First Lady of the United States as bird onomatopoeia Written Sound bird sound words found in poems, literature, slang and the web. Intarsia by Garnet Hall SawBird Intarsia Guitars, Telecaster, Intarsia patterns, Scroll Saw Patterns, Scroll Saw Blades, Books, Tools, and Free advice Everything the scroll saw enthusiast needs to Sportsmoto Ltd RC Helicopter Specialists Sonix T Rex Sportsmoto Ltd Model Helicopter RC suppliers UK for T Rex FLP Hobbywing Flying hobby hobby king products

The Bird and the Blade Reviews

  • Melanie



    ARC provided by the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    “Now, cold and exhausted, a girl disguised as a boy, tottering after the losing end of a battle, I have to second-guess that assessment. It seems to me that I’ve made some choices—some very bad choices—that have led me to this moment.”


    The Bird and the Blade is a completely enthralling and heart-breaking YA fantasy debut. I enjoyed this so much, and I was completely teleported and captivated every time I opened this ...more

  • Tatiana

    I've been very happy to see so many YA fantasies inspired by a multitude of different cultures and historical settings hit the shelves. I just wish more of them were written better.

    Riddles and Mongol Empire and 12th century and Turandot - are all fascinating subject. But in the world of YA, as it often happens, they are underserved by average writing, superficial use of historical/cultural context and in the case of The Bird and the Blade - dull protagonist (a starry-eyed, smitten girl).

    A Thou
    ...more

  • Dani - Perspective of a Writer



    Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer...

    Jinghua is a slave in the Kipchak Khanate… and the unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his father. Wanting to use the opportunity to return home this becomes increasingly hard as she falls hard for Khalaf. It’s made worse since he seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. All suitors must solve 3 impossible riddles to win her hand—and if they fail, they die. W
    ...more

  • Mar

    You know those books that grip you from the very beginning and just won't let go? Those books who have such captivating characters? Those books that you still think about even though you finished it a while ago? This is that kind of book.

    As soon as I read the synopsis of this book, I knew it was going to be great, and I wasn't let down in the slightest. Even from the very beginning I was entranced and literally did nothing except read for an entire day. (no regrets)

    Khalaf is such an intriguing
    ...more

  • Sylvia Mercedes

    I knew I was going to love this book. I just knew it. I mean, unless the actual writing turned out to be subpar, there was simply no way this book wasn't going to be a favorite.

    But . . . even though I knew I was going to love this book . . . I HAD NO IDEA JUST HOW MUCH I WOULD LOVE THIS BOOK.

    Here's the thing--I was an honest-to-goodness outcast in high school. Not because I was rebellious or reclusive or anything. Mostly it was because I just didn't like the right things. Even the other outcas
    ...more

  • joanna ☽

    ouch, there goes my heart. full review to come soon

  • Susana Zemlyakova

    5 stars for The Bird and the Blade

    This book wrecked me. It is a bit hard to put in words how I feel having just finished it. I think I can say it is the same as watching your dog get run over while winning the lottery. Megan Bannen is a very talented storyteller. I was not familiar with the story of "Prince Khalaf and the Princess of China" but from the author's closing statement I understand that this is a retelling of that story from the view of the princess' slave. Even without having read
    ...more

  • Jessie  (Ageless Pages Reviews)

    A really fun historical retelling of the 18th century French opera Turandot set in the 13th century Mongol Empire. Clever concept, fantastic execution. Detailed, descriptive, immersive.

    Would definitely recommend for fans of And I Darken and other historical fantasies.