Read Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate Online

Before We Were Yours

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their familys Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in chargeuntil strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Childrens Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parentsbut they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facilitys cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother togetherin a world of danger and uncertainty.Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fianc, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questionsand compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or redemption.Based on one of Americas most notorious real-life scandalsin which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the countryWingates riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong....

Title : Before We Were Yours
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780425284681
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 342 pages
Url Type : Home » Before » Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours A Novel Hardcover Before We Were Yours A Novel Lisa Wingate on FREE shipping on qualifying offers The NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY Lisa Wingate Q What s the stunning real life history behind Before We Were Yours From the s through , thousands of children of single mothers and poverty stricken ARE THEY ALL YOURS When we first started hosting these tea parties, I didn t even have any daughters Now I have four Peter got to come along because he is still exclusively breastfed Class Rings, Yearbooks and Graduation Products for Balfour helps celebrate milestone events with custom designed class rings, graduation announcements, letterman jackets and yearbooks. Catholic Youth Organization CYO of the Archdiocese of Kansas City in Kansas Leading Youth To Christ Through Sport. The Judgment Seat of Christ By L Ravenhill For we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ Romans KJV Formally Yours Wedding Suit Hire, Suit Hire, Men s Wedding suit hire specialists Formally Yours, order online for all mainland UK delivery collection cheapest lowest online price for wedding suit hire, formal Pitch Deck Template A pitch deck template and example plus why you need one and what to include Word In Action Ministry Ecclesiastical Court of Justice For God may speak in one way, or in another, yet man does not preceive it Job NKJV The principal aim of the Word In Action Ministry in association with Jason Mraz I m Yours Lyrics MetroLyrics Lyrics to I m yours by Jason Mraz But I won t hesitate no , no It cannot wait, I m yours

Before We Were Yours Reviews

  • Sue

    While this novel is based on historical events and real persons who existed in Tennessee in the first half of the 20th century, preying on poor families and their children, I found that I had great difficulty relating to it, primarily because of the contemporary story and the primary protagonist. My thoughts vary on this book. Some aspects are well done and the expose of the decades-long adoption ring in Memphis is both interesting and abhorrent. But the total presentation still bothers me, part ...more

  • PorshaJo

    Rating 3.5

    OK, so I'm going to be the party pooper on this one.......I liked this one, but didn't love it. There were things I really liked about it and other things that drug it down a bit for me (hence, a 3.5 rating). So I'll try to list a few here.

    First, the story. I think just about everyone knows this story. I'm sure I'm the last to read and review. A historical fiction read that has headlines plucked from the real world. Two dual stories told in alternating times between Memphis, Tennessee
    ...more

  • Candace

    'Before We Were Yours' is a highly emotional and moving fictional story, inspired by true events. Through the telling of this story, Lisa Wingate sheds light on the despicable real life actions of Georgia Tann, a woman that ran a black market child trafficking ring masked as a legitimate adoption agency for decades in Tennessee. She catered to the rich and famous, providing largely blond-haired and light-eyed children to those that could afford to pay her outrageous price. She made millions off ...more

  • Elyse

    Sometimes a story must be told.

    Sometimes when the average rating for a book by 65, 652 people is 4.39...we are foolish to not read it.

    Sometime books rated high - are Goodreads Choice Winners - really ‘are’ heartbreaking- beautiful- emotional - important - historical - powerful - eye opening - educational - ( based on real life scandals) - wonderful and compelling.

    Sad with a happy ending!

    Like many have said —- I am glad I read it. The horrors were gut-wrenching - no other way to say it The few
    ...more

  • Dem

    NOT JUST A PRETTY COVER, but Lisa Wingate has taken a heartbreaking and criminal time in a nation's history and produced a moving and compelling story of sisters and families torn apart by the Tennessee Children's Home Society Scandal (Memphis late 1930s)

    I was swept in from page one in this well written historical fiction story and Lisa Wingate's novel is a terrific example of why I enjoy historical fiction stories. These stories reach thousands of readers like me who knew nothing about this sa
    ...more

  • Sarah

    I went in to this book not knowing very much about it. I had not read very many reviews and it was recommended to me.

    The author takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and tells a story of most compelling power. That someone like Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children’s Home Society could actually exist, is shocking. Countless lives of children were affected, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills.

    But the real feat of this stirring no
    ...more

  • Liz



    3.5stars, rounded up

    I am a huge fan of historical fiction. This one tells an engaging tale of poor children stolen from their families and sold to the wealthy. It’s based on the real life Tennessee Children’s Home Society.

    The first story is told from the perspective of one family of children taken in 1939 with a secondary story from the modern day of a woman trying to make sense of a chance encounter. This back and forth nature gives the feel of a mystery to the book.

    What could be maudlin is t
    ...more

  • Emily May

    But the love of sisters needs no words. It does not depend on memories, or mementos, or proof. It runs as deep as a heartbeat. It is as ever present as a pulse.


    I still maintain that The Heart's Invisible Furies and Pachinko were more deserving of the Goodreads Choice Award for Historical Fiction, but I can definitely see why Before We Were Yours has had such an emotional impact on readers.

    Comparisons to Orphan Train make a lot of sense. The pacing and structure of both stories are similar, and ...more