Read Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol Online

Be Prepared

A gripping and hilarious middle-grade summer camp memoir from the author of Anya's Ghost.All Vera wants to do is fit inbut thats not easy for a Russian girl in the suburbs. Her friends live in fancy houses and their parents can afford to send them to the best summer camps. Veras single mother cant afford that sort of luxury, but there's one summer camp in her price rangeRussian summer camp.Vera is sure she's found the one place she can fit in, but camp is far from what she imagined. And nothing could prepare her for all the "cool girl" drama, endless Russian history lessons, and outhouses straight out of nightmares!Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Cece Bell, and Victoria Jamieson, Vera Brosgol's Be Prepared is a funny and relatable middle-grade graphic novel about navigating your own culture, struggling to belong, and the value of true friendship....

Title : Be Prepared
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781626724440
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 256 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » Be Prepared

National Hurricane Preparedness National Weather Service National Hurricane Preparedness US Dept of Commerce National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Weather Service Prepare For Emergencies Be Red Cross Ready Red Cross Getting prepared may sound difficult or time consuming but with a little help from the Red Cross its actually very doable. Prepared Carolinian NC Concealed Carry Class, NRA Providing citizens with quality NC Concealed Carry training, NRA and Personal Protection courses as well as Basic and Advanced Defensive Pistol training Gun safety Hurricane Preparedness Be Ready Two keys to weather safety are to prepare for the risks and to act on those preparations when alerted by emergency officials These are essential pieces to the Batman Crazy Prepared TV Tropes Batman apparently spends most of his time devising contingency plans to use in the event that he has to fight a given individual, to the point that it s The Prepper s Blueprint The Step By Step Guide To The Prepper s Blueprint The Step By Step Guide To Help You Through Any Disaster Tess Pennington, Daisy Luther on FREE shipping on qualifying offers. Nelson Mandela I am prepared to die The History Place Nelson Mandela was born the son of a Tembu tribal chieftain at Qunu, near Umtata, in South Africa He renounced his right to succeed his father and Hurricanes Ready Hurricanes are massive storm systems that form over warm ocean waters and move toward land Potential threats from hurricanes include powerful winds, heavy rainfall Nasa warns Earth is NOT prepared for surprise asteroid Earth is NOT prepared for a surprise asteroid strike Nasa warns there s not a lot we can do about it at the moment Nasa scientist, Dr Joseph Nuth spoke about the Earth is NOT prepared for a deadly asteroid strike says Earth is not prepared for the possibility of a cataclysmic asteroid collision, according to the White House s top science advisor At a discussion on Wednesday at

Be Prepared Reviews

  • Whitney Atkinson

    I enjoyed this! This will be a short review just because the rating speaks for itself. I have nothing particularly outstanding to say about it, but there's also nothing terrible about it. It was entertaining, but it was just okay. Maybe get it from the library instead of buying it

  • Rod Brown

    With strong art and solid writing, this is a well-done addition to the coming-of-age summer camp subgenre. The Russian Orthodox background of the characters gives the book a unique flavor. I'd like to see a follow-up to the little cliffhanger at the end.

  • Aliza Werner

    Love this autobiographical graphic novel of young Vera going to Russian camp. I was excited to have my 3rd graders grab it, but there a few parts that take this one up to a true middle grade read (name calling: "tit head", older campers caught making out, period-stained undies flying from the flagpole). Many kids will relate to the challenges of friendships and navigating new situations.

  • Jessica

    Wonderful! Think Shannon Hale's REAL FRIENDS, but set at summer camp! I love Brosgol's art (she did one of my top books from last year: LEAVE ME ALONE!), and the true(ish) story of her trying to fit in and make friends, at home and at camp, was funny and heartbreaking in turns. I can't wait to see what she doesn't next!

    PS: I burned through this minutes after picking it up from the library, and then handed it to my 9yo daughter, who is absolutely riveted as well. She's a big fan of Raina Telgeme
    ...more

  • Jay G

    Want to see more from me? Check out my Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfer...

    Thank you to the publisher for sending me a copy of this in exchange for my honest review!

    Everyone Vera knows gets to go away to summer camp every year. All Vera wants is to be like the other kids in her neighbourhood. Then, one summer, her mother agrees to send her to ORRA, a Russian summer camp for children just like her! Upon arriving, Vera quickly realizes that she is not going to enjoy her time
    ...more

  • Alyssa

    I was sent this book for review from Macmillan-First Second Reads. All thoughts and opinions are honest.

    I've read Anya's Ghost and I really enjoyed it. So, I knew very well that I wouldn't have a problem reading this. Vera is eight & nine-years old in this graphic memoir and dreams of going to sleep-away camp like her friends are. Yet, her mother is going to school for accounting and is a single parent. They're dealing with poverty and Vera is being excluded and called "weird" because she i
    ...more

  • Darcy Roar

    Such a good camp story. I love the realities of the kid's interpersonal relationships (people are mean but not generally the devil, making friends is difficult, even protagonists can be bullies some times, it's hard to learn to be self reliant, family lets you down sometimes, etc.) Nothing felt preachy (which is the worst thing a kids/teen book can do in my very biased opinion) but there's still an underlying message. I really enjoyed it & that last panel made me laugh so hard. Also the art ...more

  • Abby Johnson

    Almost-10-year-old Vera is on the outside a lot. Although she gets invited to slumber parties with the other girls, she's never really part of the in-crowd. And when she tries to throw her own birthday slumber party, things go horribly awry. Vera always feels different than the other kids and part of that is because, as Russian immigrants, her family is different. Which is why, when Vera hears about a Russian culture summer camp sponsored by her church, she is desperate to go. All the kids in he ...more