Read When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi Online

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a nave medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both....

Title : When Breath Becomes Air
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 208 pages
Url Type : Home » When » When Breath Becomes Air

Review In When Breath Becomes Air, Dr Paul Kalanithi When Dr Paul Kalanithi sent his best friend an email in May revealing that he had terminal cancer, he wrote The good news is that I ve already When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, Hardcover Auto Suggestions are available once you type at least letters Use up arrow for mozilla firefox browser alt up arrow and down arrow for mozilla firefox browser When Breath Becomes Air Kindle Edition These promotions will be applied to this item Some promotions may be combined others are not eligible to be combined with other offers For details, please see the When Breath Becomes Air Paul Kalanithi When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, , available at Book Depository with free delivery worldwide. When Breath Becomes Air by by Paul BookBrowse Summary and reviews of When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, plus links to a book excerpt from When Breath Becomes Air and author biography of Paul Kalanithi. When Breath Becomes Air A Young Neurosurgeon When you come to one of the many moments in life where you must give an account of yourself, provide a ledger of what you have been, and done, and meant to the When Breath Becomes Air A Cup of Jo When Breath Becomes Air, a memoir by Paul Kalanithi, about facing death and finding meaning. Take a Breath Clean Air is a human right Camfil Air pollution is not a new problem in the UK The London smog of killed , people Since then, changes in the way we live have also changed the air pollution Breath Sounds NORMAL or ABNORMAL adventitious Breath sounds can be classified into two categories, either NORMAL or ABNORMAL adventitious Breath sounds originate in the large airways where air velocity Aspicientes in Jesum Valle Adurni In Lord of the Rings, in a preface Tolkien sharply dismisses the idea that he was writing an allegory In an allegory one thing directly stands for another when one

When Breath Becomes Air Reviews

  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)

    Do yourself a favour and don't listened to the ending of this book while doing your makeup...

    Theres no way to review a book where the author died too young from cancer leaving his wife and 8 months old baby behind without feeling like an asshole for not giving it 5 stars.

    That’s why more often than not, I don’t give a rating to the autobiographies I read. I just don’t feel comfortable rating someone’s life.

    Cancer and the death of a close one is something most of us unfortunately can relate to and
    ...more

  • Raeleen Lemay

    This was such a beautiful, touching book! Not going to lie, the epilogue by Paul's wife nearly made me cry. SO GOOD. I also highly recommend the audiobook, although the narrator's voice was so soothing that sometimes I found myself not listening to him speak... my bad.

  • Maggie Stiefvater

    A gasping, desperate, powerful little book, bigger on the inside than outside.

    It's a little bit about dying, but more about being alive.

  • Linda

    "To begin with -- or, maybe, to end with --I got to know Paul only after his death. I came to know him most intimately when he'd ceased to be." (Abraham Verghese)

    And we, for the most part, can actually say the same thing about Paul Kalanithi. We've come to know of him only after he had left this world of ours. Ironically, I write this on March 9th, the one-year anniversary of his passing.

    Paul Kalanithi: son, husband, father, brilliant surgeon. He was a healer whose very existence gave hope to so
    ...more

  • Seemita

    [Originally appeared here (with edits): http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/li...]

    It has been a few days since I turned the last page of this book. But the numbness reappears the instant I allow the pages to unfold in my memory. The silence which suddenly parts to let these memories seep in and cloud my vision, fills the air. Even as I grapple to make ‘sense’ of what it means to lose a dear, dear one, I, ironically, already know that very ‘sense’ to be ephemeral. No part of my being accepts death
    ...more

  • Justin

    I read this almost two months ago and realized I never reviewed it. When I finished the book, I just couldn't review it. It's a small book, but it's powerful. I didn't shed any tears at the end of it, but I remember sitting there physically shaking and feeling really numb and tingly. A book has never impacted me that way before, and I'm not even sure why I read the book in the first place since I knew what I was getting myself into.

    Wait, I know why I wanted to read it. It was very therapeutic f
    ...more

  • Esil

    A very high 4 stars. When Breath Becomes Air is so good and so sad. It's a brief memoir of a life ended way too early. Kalanithi was 35 years old and finishing his training as a neurosurgeon when he was diagnosed with an aggressive form of lung cancer. As he was living out the end of his life, he wrote this brief powerful memoir. In the first section, he describes how he became aware of his diagnosis -- he essentially self diagnosed. In the second section he explains how he decided to become a n ...more

  • Carol

    "This book carries the urgency of racing against time, of having important things to say."

    I knew going in this would be a tough read for me, and it was, but aside from that, it is a touching, heartbreaking and most "powerful tale of living with death" knocking at your door.

    Paul Kalanithi, neurosurgeon and writer was only 37 when he passed away from lung cancer, and besides the loss to his wife and family, such a great loss to the medical profession too. Oh what more this brilliant man could have

    ...more