Read When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi Online

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a nave medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both....

Title : When Breath Becomes Air
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 208 pages
Url Type : Home » When » When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air Paul Buy When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi ISBN from s Book Store Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi When Breath Becomes Air has , ratings and , reviews Diane S said As I finished this book with tears running down my face I When Breath Becomes Air Wikipedia When Breath Becomes Air is a non fiction autobiographical book written by Paul Kalanithi It is a memoir about his life and illness, battling stage IV metastatic lung Craig Brown reviews When Breath Becomes Air Mail Online When Breath Becomes Air is a book of two halves the first is about becoming a doctor and saving life, the second about becoming a patient and facing death. When Breath Becomes Air Bill Gates Bill Gates reviews the book When Breath Becomes Air by author Paul Kalanithi. when breath becomes air eBay Find great deals on eBay for when breath becomes air Shop with confidence. When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi review A dying surgeon contemplates his mortality and his vocation in this moving, astute farewell Book Summary When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi This is a book summary of When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi Read this When Breath Becomes Air summary to review ideas and lessons from the book. When Breath Becomes Air When Breath Becomes Air Paul Kalanithi, Abraham Verghese on FREE shipping on qualifying offers NEW YORK Review In When Breath Becomes Air, Dr Paul Kalanithi When Dr Paul Kalanithi sent his best friend an email in May revealing that he had terminal cancer, he wrote The good news is that I ve already

When Breath Becomes Air Reviews

  • Kelli

    With over 1200 reviews in just over a month, there isn't much I can say that hasn't been said. I'm not sure I even need to acknowledge the brilliance, ambition, tenacity, curiosity, and endurance this man possessed or the fact that he wrote in a way that felt conversational and genuine, even when discussing procedures of the brain and medical school examples well outside most people's normal realm. His wife's epilogue was extremely well-written and reduced me to tears, as did his note to his bab ...more

  • Seemita

    [Originally appeared here (with edits): http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/li...]

    It has been a few days since I turned the last page of this book. But the numbness reappears the instant I allow the pages to unfold in my memory. The silence which suddenly parts to let these memories seep in and cloud my vision, fills the air. Even as I grapple to make ‘sense’ of what it means to lose a dear, dear one, I, ironically, already know that very ‘sense’ to be ephemeral. No part of my being accepts death
    ...more

  • Joseph

    Okay, I so wanted to like this very absorbing book more than I did. I am not going to recap it other than to say that Paul came from a privileged background, a very supportive family and an Indian (Asian Tiger) mom. He succumbed to an aggressive form of lung cancer. My own wife died of lung disease (idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis). Outside of the hospital I was her caregiver for a year and a half. I was the one who made sure she had oxygen, got to her appointments, watched this once vital woman d ...more

  • Petra X

    I finished the book. I'm glad that I perservered with it. It's quite an odd book and an overall rating might be the sum of the parts, but is not going to reflect the writing or content of those parts. Ratings, part I, 1 star, part II, 3 stars and part III, 5 stars.

    The first part, the foreword, by Abraham Verghese, was verbose, hagiographic and contradictory (view spoiler). He said he didn't know the author at all until after his death. Then he says well he did me
    ...more

  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)

    Do yourself a favour and don't listened to the ending of this book while doing your makeup...

    Theres no way to review a book where the author died too young from cancer leaving his wife and 8 months old baby behind without feeling like an asshole for not giving it 5 stars.

    That’s why more often than not, I don’t give a rating to the autobiographies I read. I just don’t feel comfortable rating someone’s life.

    Cancer and the death of a close one is something most of us unfortunately can relate to and
    ...more

  • Aisling

    Oh dear. I was always told not to speak ill of the dead. It feels awful to give a three star rating to a nice guy (by all accounts) who is now dead. But I simply did not find this book compelling or insightful enough. It is mildly interesting to learn about neurosurgery as a specialty and to read the author's thoughts as he faced diagnosis, illness and then death. I always felt that the author was holding back; that it was too clinical, too calm, just not passionate enough. The first time I felt ...more

  • Councillor

    Paul Kalanithi, the author of this touching memoir, died of stage IV lung cancer in March 2015, ten months before the publication of the novel which would not only raise attention to his fate, but also to the general effects of the terrible disease that is cancer (which should never cease to deserve attention; it is a subject too important). When I first opened the pages of this book, what I expected was a clinical description of his disease's course, but Kalanithi surprised me and probably a lo

    “You can’t ever reach perfection, but you can believe in an asymptote toward which you are ceaselessly striving.”


    Paul Kalanithi's words inspired me, his story touched me, and I am grateful for the publication of his book, as what happened to him is so important for so many people.

    ~~~

    If you are interested in more insight on Kalanithi, you may be interested in this short video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5u75... ...more

  • Lindsay

    4.5 stars! What an emotional book! Dr. Paul Kalanithi was a neurosurgical resident entering his final year of training when he was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. This memoir is Paul's story for his daughter, Cady, who was 8 months old when he passed away, just 22 months after his cancer diagnosis. Among other things, Paul writes about his career, his love for his family, his views on the 'doctor and patient relationship' and his eventual transistion from doctor to patient.

    Something that r
    ...more